At 19:20 of the third period in the New Jersey Devils/Philadelphia Flyers game, the Situation Room initiated a video review because the puck entered the New Jersey net. The referee informed the Situation Room that Philadelphia’s Scott Hartnell pushed goaltender Martin Brodeur across the goal line with the puck. According to Rule 78.5 (ix) “Apparent goals shall be disallowed by the Referee when a goaltender has been pushed into the net together with the puck after making a save.” This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee’s call on the ice stands – no penalty and no goal Philadelphia.
Their candor actually makes me hate the call less. Well played.
Meanwhile, Jakub Voracek is all sorts of furious [via the Flyers’ city-leading PR department]:
“I don’t know if they even blew the whistle. Like I don’t know what was the call. I mean he didn’t have it covered. The puck was under him but for what a split second? I mean how with the playoffs on the line to make a call like that. It’s f—–g incredible, sorry for the language but it’s a joke.”
[Video after the jump.]
Regardless, the debate about whether or not this was reviewable rages on. Here’s Steve Coates shooting daggers at hockey know-it-all John Boruk over this issue on Postgame Live.
Look at this eyes at the end:
H/T to (@964DragAggie)