Terrell Owens Will Apparently Be Omitted from the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

Photo Credit: John David Mercer-USA TODAY Sports

Terrell Owens isn’t going to Canton next month to be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Instead, the ex-Eagle recently revealed that he’ll hold his own ceremony on the campus of his alma mater, UT-Chattanooga.

So the Hall will simply omit Owens entirely from the August program, as explained by executive director Joe Horrigan in a story published by TalkOfFameNetwork.com:

Owens will not be introduced for Friday night’s Gold Jacket ceremony, nor will he be announced the following night at Canton’s annual induction ceremony.

“The focus,” Horrigan said, “is on the guys who are here.”

Makes sense, I think.

More from the story, written by Clark Judge:

As Horrigan pointed out, the situation isn’t unlike a senior who decides to boycott his school’s graduation. His name isn’t mentioned, and his diploma isn’t awarded.

Instead, he receives it afterward.

And, so, Owens’ gold jacket — which, under normal circumstances, would be placed on his shoulders at Friday’s Gold Jacket dinner — will be mailed first thing Saturday morning. But his name that evening won’t be mentioned with the others, just at (sic) it won’t be recognized 24 hours later when individuals are introduced at Saturday nationally-televised induction.

That doesn’t mean he’ll be absent altogether on Hall-of-Fame weekend. When the entire class is the subject, his name will be included … just as his image will be included on all depictions of the Class of 2018. But that’s it, and for the best of reasons.

“There’s no reason to bring him up as an individual,” said Horrigan. “He’s not here.”

Owens is the first Hall of Fame inductee to skip out on the event.

He outlined his plans in a tweet posted back on July 3rd:

 

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on email
Email

2 Responses

  1. Oh you mean his “All About T.O.” move got him removed from the HOF ceremony?

    Didn’t see that one coming…

  2. He deserves to be inducted while he is still playing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *