Richie Ashburn Among Ten Finalists for the Ford C. Frick Award

Image via the Baseball Hall of Fame Facebook page
Image via the Baseball Hall of Fame Facebook page

Last month, I mentioned that you could vote for Richie Ashuburn to be named a finalist for the Baseball Hall of Fame’s Ford C. Frick Award. Whitey was listed with about 40 others, and the top three vote getters earned a spot on the award’s ballot, which would then be rounded out by a Hall of Fame research committee. Whitey wasn’t one of the three who earned a vote-in spot, but it didn’t matter, because he’s a finalist anyway.

According to the Phillies, Dick Enberg, Ralph Kiner, and Jack Quinlan received the most fan votes, but seven others (Ashburn, Billy Berroa, Rene Cardenas, Dizzy Dean, Ernie Johnson Sr., Ned Martin, Joe Nuxhall) were placed on the ballot by the research committee. So, you didn’t do it but it happened anyway.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *