Since we’ve now entered “get Wayne Simmonds” territory what with Rangers goons issuing tacit threats, let’s hear from former referee and owner of GREAT HAIR Kerry Fraser on why The Shield was correct in not suspending Simmonds after he was given a match penalty for a soft jab to the cranial of Ryan McDonagh… and why McDonagh without the U is a big ol’ sandy lady part. Mr. Fraser?
McDonagh’s actions were nothing less than a deliberate cross-check to the head of his opponent who was approaching to deliver a legal body check. This is worthy of a match penalty. Note that coach Vigneault is following the pass through the middle of the ice and didn’t see the cross-check delivered by his player.
In the aftermath, Simmonds engaged McDonagh in front of the Rangers bench. Following a moderate slash by Simmonds to the Ranger player’s shin pad, McDonagh pushed back with a shove across Simmonds’ midsection, creating some separation between the two players.
Let’s stop here to take stock. The blow delivered by Simmonds could not be regarded as a powerful, forceful punch. It was more in line with what we have seen thousands of times in a roughing altercation. It also can’t be deemed a sucker punch as some have suggested, since both players were actively engaged in a physical confrontation. As such, it is difficult to suggest that McDonagh was unsuspecting of any further response or potential punch from his opponent.
Thank you, sanity.
Fraser notes that, sadly, officials made the correct call in giving Simmonds a match penalty because the rule values the outcome and not the action– it states that you’re done if you injure a player with your glove, pending league review. But Fraser feels the league was right in not further suspending Simmonds.
Read Fraser’s full take here.