Rhys Hoskins Will Represent Phillies in MLB The Show Players’ League

There’s no real baseball, so we’re gonna have to settle for video game baseball.

MLB today launched an online league featuring 30 players, one from each team, who will compete in MLB The Show. Rhys Hoskins represents the home team while ex-Phils Hunter Pence and Carlos Santana also take part.

Here’s the announcement from the league website:

Have you ever wondered what would happen if 30 Major League players — one from each team — played each other in an online league on “MLB The Show?” Well, we’re all about to find out.

Beginning Friday, 30 players will put their virtual talents to the test in the first “MLB The Show” online league. Participants include 11 onetime All-Stars, five World Series champions and eight players age 25 or younger. The league will consist of 29 games for each player, one against each of the other participants, and will run for approximately three weeks. The top eight players will then advance to the “postseason.”

The “MLB The Show” players league will provide fans an opportunity to watch their favorite players play the video game, while also allowing them to interact with them through various streaming services.

While the competition will provide something for baseball fans to watch during social distancing, it will also be done for a charitable cause.

Major League Baseball, the MLB Players Association and Sony Interactive Entertainment will donate $5,000 on behalf of each participating player to a Boys & Girls Club affiliate in their team’s community. The stakes of the competition are enhanced, with the championship player earning an additional $25,000 donation to the Boys & Girls Club in his community. That adds up to a total of $175,000.

You can watch the live stream on MLB’s social media accounts, like TwitterFacebookYouTube, and Twitch). The players and teams will also have the stream. League games begin today but Rhys isn’t scheduled to play until tomorrow, Saturday, when he’ll face off against Jon Duplantier, Carl Edwards Jr., Jesus Luzardo, and Niko Goodrum.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *